Search
  • Shaykayla Smith

Creator Spotlight - Obscurity By Elle Griffin


What is Obscurity:

Obscurity is a gothic novel in the vein of Dracula, The Phantom of the Opera, or The Count of Monte Cristo written by Elle Griffin. It is lush, atmospheric noir, with a strong female protagonist and literary tendencies. It reads like a wandering through apothecary shelves, each step revealing a vignette more dark and mercurial than the last. It will debut in the fall of 2021 exclusively for her newsletter subscribers.

The founder

Elle Griffin - “Be regular and orderly in your life so that you may be violent and original in your work."


Where they’re at: (2-3 sentences)

A few years ago, Elle fell in love with the Gothics: The Count of Monte Cristo, The Phantom of the Opera, Dracula, A Christmas Carol, A Picture of Dorian Gray. Then she ran out. Apparently, there are only so many gothic novels one can find in 18th- and 19th-century writings—and she even read several of the more obscure ones.


But she wasn’t done with the genre yet—she wanted to stay in that dark, beautiful world. she wanted one more gothic novel, written in the French style, with all the mystery of Edmond Dantès and with all the philosophical complexity of Jean-Valjean—but with a strong female protagonist and a lush Americana setting.


So she wrote it herself.


Where they’re going (2-3 sentences)

After Elle finished writing her “strange little” gothic novel, She spent an inordinate amount of time researching this article on the best way to publish it. As a result, she decided to publish her novel as a serial for her newsletter subscribers — just like The Count of Monte Cristo did—releasing one chapter per week until it’s done (42 weeks). Her newsletter is free, but she will charge $5/month for those who wish to subscribe to weekly chapters of her novel. If she only has 1,000 paid readers, she will make $5,000/month as an author. You can subscribe here.


Create The Future.


Learn more about STRT at STRT.com

#STRT #STRTer #STRTerStory #news #coworking #coliving #startups #entrepreneurs #startupventures #utah #saltlakecity #creators #saltlakecitycreatives #saltlakecitystartups #utahcreatives #spotlight

4 views0 comments